sochi ice

Skating News is a series of blogs on what is going on in the figure skating world by Jo Ann Schneider Farris,'s Figure Skating Expert.  In this blog post, Jo Ann explains how the new Olympic figure skating team event is scored.


Ice skating fans are getting an additional treat during the 2014 Sochi Winter Olympic Games since in addition to watching individual figure skating events, spectators get to watch the new Olympic team figure skating event where figure skaters from ten different nations compete against one another.

The skaters, coaches, and team leaders from each country sit together in their own "Kiss and Cry" areas and cheer for their nation's skaters.  Smiles and hugs are shared, and it seems as if participants are having fun.

In the Olympic figure skating team event, the skaters are judged in the same way as they are judged in individual Olympic figure skating events. They receive a technical score and a component score. Then a team score is awarded to each country's skater from 1 to 10.

  • 1st place - 10 points
  • 2nd place - 9 points
  • 3rd place - 8 points 
  • 4th place - 7 points 
  • 5th place - 6 points
  • 6th place - 5 points 
  • 7th place - 4 points 
  • 8th place - 3 points 
  • 9th place - 2 points
  • 10th place - 1 point

Points are added up. After the short program and short dance phase, the five teams from the nations that earn the most points qualify for the final free skate and free dance phase of the Olympic team competition.

The nations that qualified for the final 2014 Sochi Olympic figure skating team phase are Russia, Canada, USA, Italy, and Japan.

After all participants complete their free skate or free dance programs, the team from the country with the most points will become the winners of the 2014 Olympic Team Trophy Figure Skating event and all skaters on the teams that place in the top three will be awarded Olympic medals!

Further Reading: